Road to Indy

Pro Mazda Preview: Toronto

By  | 

The 2016 Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires has struggled this year with car count and Toronto is no different with only nine cars on the entry list, but a driver who appeared earlier in the year is with a new team in Toronto.

Mexico’s Jorge Cevallos drove for JDC Motorsports earlier this season but will drive this weekend for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing as teammate to 2015 USF2000 champion Nico Jamin.

As for the points, it’s been a Team Pelfrey playground at the top of the standings. Out of nine races, Pato O’Ward has won six of them with Aaron Telitz winning the other three. O’Ward leads Telitz 259 to 231 with Juncos Racing’s Will Owen a distant third with 169 points. Jamin is fourth with 160 points while Owen’s teammate Nicolas Dapero is fifth on 140 points.

Toronto has usually seen the championship winner sweep the weekend’s races, as in 2012 Jack Hawksworth and in 2013 Matthew Brabham both accomplished that feat, but last year the championship contenders struggled at Toronto.  2015 champion Santiago Urrutia finished fourth and seventh in both races while championship runner-up Neil Alberico recorded DNFs in both races.

EMAIL CHRISTOPHER AT christopherdeharde@gmail.com


The thoughts and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of PopularOpenWheel.com, its owners, management or other contributors. Any links contained in this article should not be considered an endorsement. 


Christopher DeHarde is a native of Luling, Louisiana and has contributed to Motorsport.com, Motorsports Tribune, The New Orleans Advocate and Race22.com. He’s a graduate of Louisiana State University with a degree in Mass Communication and has been writing about motorsports since 2014. Primarily covering the Verizon IndyCar Series and the Mazda Road to Indy, DeHarde has also covered the FIA World Endurance Championship, Pirelli World Challenge and NASCAR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *