Indy Lights

Mazda Road to Indy Spring Training Recap

By  | 

All three steps on the Mazda Road to Indy took part in their spring training tests at Barber Motorsports Park on March 5-7, and all three series had tight competition near the top.


Indy Lights

Indy Lights only tested on the 5th, but the number of different teams at the sharp end of the timesheets was incredible.  In the first session, five different teams were in the top five.  Carlin’s Ed Jones led Team Pelfrey’s Scott Hargrove, Juncos Racing’s Kyle Kaiser, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports’s RC Enerson and Belardi Auto Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist.  The top five were separated by a little over a tenth of a second.

In the second session, the 2015 Pro Mazda champion Santiago Urrutia led the way for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports as he led Rosenqvist, Hargrove, Enerson and Carlin’s Felix Serralles.


Pro Mazda

In Pro Mazda,  Team Pelfrey had the best results of the first day of testing with Juncos Racing nipping at their heels.  In the first and third sessions, the team went 1-2-3, with Aaron Telitz and Pato O’Ward leading both sessions respectively.

Juncos wasn’t far behind in both sessions.  In the first session, Juncos Racing went 4-5-6-7 with Nicolas Dapero leading Will Owen, Garett Grist and Jake Parsons.

The second session had Juncos Racing on top of the time sheet with Garett Grist leading Owen and Telitz in third.

The second day of testing began much like the first day did as Team Pelfrey ended up 1-2-3 with Telitz fastest over O’Ward and Weiron Tan.  Telitz continued his form as he was fastest in the next session over Dapero and Grist.

Telitz, however, did not participate in the last session but his team still led the standings as O’Ward led Owen, Grist and Parsons in the final session of spring training.



In USF2000, the first day of testing was not dominated by any particular team as several teams had drivers in the top of the time sheets.  In the first session, Pabst Racing and Team Pelfrey split the top six between them with Pabst claiming first, third and fourth positions and Pelfrey having second, fifth and sixth.  Jordan Lloyd and Jordan Cane led the first session of the test.

The second and third sessions for USF2000 were both led by Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing’s Parker Thompson, but behind Thompson were a few new faces.  In the second session, Ayla Agren, driving for John Cummiskey Racing, was second with Pelfrey Racing’s TJ Fischer in third.  However, later in the afternoon, Pelfrey’s James Munro was second fastest while Lloyd and Agren were right behind Munro in third and fourth, respectively.

On the second day of testing, Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing’s Anthony Martin led the first session of the day over Munro, Thompson, Agren and Pabst Racing’s Garth Rickards, the quintet separated by little more than a quarter of a second.

Cane led the next session over Munro and Thompson while Agren and her teammate Lucas Kohl rounded out the top five, but Agren led the final session’s time sheet over Thompson, Lloyd, Kohl and Rickards.

EMAIL CHRISTOPHER AT christopherdeharde@gmail.com


The thoughts and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of PopularOpenWheel.com, its owners, management or other contributors. Any links contained in this article should not be considered an endorsement. 


Christopher DeHarde is a native of Luling, Louisiana and has contributed to Motorsport.com, Motorsports Tribune, The New Orleans Advocate and Race22.com. He’s a graduate of Louisiana State University with a degree in Mass Communication and has been writing about motorsports since 2014. Primarily covering the Verizon IndyCar Series and the Mazda Road to Indy, DeHarde has also covered the FIA World Endurance Championship, Pirelli World Challenge and NASCAR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *