IndyCar Releases 2015 Schedule

By  | 

By Matt Weaver — IndyCar released its 2015 IndyCar Series season schedule on Thursday morning and it detailed a 17 race, 18 points-paying event season that includes two new venues in Brazil and New Orleans.

The campaign features six ovals, six road courses and four temporary street courses with the television schedule once again split between ABC and the NBC Sports Network. The most significant change to the schedule from recent seasons is a date shift for Sonoma Raceway that establishes the California road course as the new season finale.

This will be the first time since 2007 that an Indy car touring series has ended a season on a non-oval since the Champ Car World Series ended that season on the road course at Mexico City, Mexico.

Other major changes include the elimination of both races at Houston (doubleheader), Toronto (one of the two races) and the off-setting additions of the new races at NOLA Motorsports Park outside of New Orleans and the new races at Brasilia, Brazil at the The Autódromo Internacional Nelson Piquet road course.

“The Verizon IndyCar Series calendar represents another step forward in our strategy to grow the series,” said Mark Miles, CEO of Hulman & Co., the parent of INDYCAR and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. “There were several factors that led to the positive momentum we experienced in 2014 and we will continue to execute on those initiatives – continuity in our broadcast schedule, strategic growth of our schedule and improvements to how we promote our events.

“The continued support from our television partners at ABC and NBCSN, and the ongoing collaboration with promoters, teams and sponsor partners gives us a lot of confidence about our future.”

One anticipated addition to the schedule never materialized as the rumored February season-opener in Dubai will have to be pushed back to at least next season.

ABC will telecast six events, including both days of Indianapolis 500 qualifications and the 500-Mile Race, while NBCSN will telecast 13 events. All races will be broadcast by the IMS Radio Network through its affiliates, including SiriusXM Satellite Radio, the INDYCAR 15 app and www.indycar.com.

@12WillPower of Team Penske is the defending champion and will return to defend his crown against the most diverse drivers in the world. The complete schedule and accompanying television partners can be viewed below.

3/8 Brazil (NBCSN)

3/29 St. Petersburg (ABC)

4/12 New Orleans (NBCSN)

4/19 Long Beach (NBCSN)

4/26 Barber (NBCSN)

5/9 GP of Indianapolis (Saturday, ABC)

5/16-17 Indianapolis 500 Qualifying (ABC)

5/24 Indianapolis 500 (ABC)

5/30-31 Detroit (Doubleheader, both ABC)

6/6 Texas (Saturday night, NBCSN)

6/14 Toronto (NBCSN)

6/27 Fontana (Saturday, NBCSN)

7/12 Milwaukee (NBCSN)

7/18 Iowa (Saturday night, NBCSN)

8/2 Mid-Ohio (NBCSN)

8/23 Pocono (NBCSN)

8/30 Sonoma (NBCSN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *